Grafton Massachusetts Museums

In the sleepy town of Grafton, Massachusetts, there is a timeless treasure that is one of the oldest and most important museums in the United States, the Willard House and Clock Museum. The museum was founded in 1884 after the owner of a local grocery store, John Willards, acquired the Willard Farm. Over the years, the property was enlarged and acquired by the community in 1968, which eventually built it as Willard's House & Clock Museum.

The Grafton Historical Society transfers the enlarged property to Willard's House & Clock Museum, Inc., to operate it as a watch museum forever. The museum will continue to be run by Patrick Keenan, the museum's director. Visitors are charged $5 for a tour of the museum, which Cote says is used to rent and maintain the building.

He said he likes to see how generations of state police officers have been doing their jobs for more than 100 years. It will be updated as new recruits graduate from the Massachusetts State Police Academy and are deployed to barracks across the state, and soldiers will serve in the state police from early in their careers through 2019.

It is operated by the Massachusetts Department of Corrections and is located at the Shattuck Correctional Center in Grafton. It is one of the other places where the DMH provides nursing care beds.

There is a small gift shop and many memorabilia of the Willard family are on display, as well as a special exhibition about the life and times of former Governor William J. Willard. The museum also has a collection of motorcycles, including an Indian motorcycle from 1951, which was once used by the state police before it was taken over by private hands. According to the number COVID-19, the museum is open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. M. weekdays and weekends from 10 am to 4 pm. This museum houses an exhibition of photographs and artifacts from the Massachusetts Department of Public Safety and the Commonwealth of Massachusetts State Police.

A Civil War monument bearing the names of the sixty Grafton men killed during the war, as well as the dates of their deaths.

In addition to several watches with the signature "Grafton," watches made before the Willard watchmaking company moved to Roxbury, Massachusetts, now part of Boston, are also on display. The brothers made watches in the Graftons before moving the business to Tooxbury, where they became a pillar of the burgeoning American watch industry.

Nestled in a field and forest in North Grafton, Willard House Clock Museum can be considered a historical treasure. The museum, which offers a wide variety of historical objects from the beginnings of the State Police to the present day, includes a collection of historical objects from 1865 to modern times. One of the most moving parts of the museum is a wall covered with the names of all the state police officers who died during their service, some of them from the 19th century. In 1921, Governor Calvin Coolidge signed the papers that established the state patrol, which became the state police, with a pen.

In Grafton, the first so-called Banjo watch, better known as the Willard Patent Timepiece, patented in 1802, was developed by William Willsard, one of the most famous watchmakers in the United States. In the early 1770s, his father John Wansink made his first clock in his shop on the corner of Main and Main Streets in Grafing.

The museum currently houses a collection of over 80 Willard watches, some of which represent the craftsmanship of members of the family's watchmaking family. The museum has exhibited the design, manufacture and display of about 80 of its watches, representing the craftsmanship of each member of the family in the watch trade and the history of the watch industry in Grafton.

The clock at the end of the room was made in 1839 by Aaron Willard Jr. (1783 - 1864) for the Methodist Church in Marshfield, Massachusetts. The improved watch, often referred to as the Banjo watch, was made in Roxbury, Massachusetts (around 1810). Simon's remarkable clock is located in the Old State House in Boston, and a one-bedroom farmhouse was built there in 1718 by William Simon, a Grafton resident who built it.

Then, in 1793, he built his own house on Washington Street, where he lived the rest of his life, and then built a second house in Grafton, at the corner of Main Street and Washington Avenue.

According to historian and author Frederick Pierce, Joseph was the first white to own land in Grafton, and he spent the winter on the reserve with his wife and two children. In November 1776 they married and Joseph gave birth to his first child, a son, who was born two months later. According to the Massachusetts Historical Society, this reserve is unique in Massachusetts as it has never been inhabited or occupied by a non-native people. In the 1650s and 1660s, Eliot founded a series of "praying villages" in eastern Massachusetts, one of which was in what is now the GRAPHIC. Joseph's son William, the second son of George Eliot, was also the first white child to be born in Graftons.

More About Grafton

More About Grafton